Minutes of the Fairfax County Tenant-Landlord Commission

December 20, 2018 Fairfax County Government Center

12000 Government Center Parkway

Fairfax, Virginia 22035 Conference Room 9/10

Vice-Chairman Purnell presiding

Attendance: Commissioners Geier-Smith, Harberg, Park, Purnell

Absent: Commissioners Fielding, Gomez, Kocsis

Staff Attending: Michael S. Liberman, Director

Cable and Consumer Services Division

Rebecca Makely, Director
Consumer Services Division
Susan C. Jones, Branch Chief
Consumer Affairs Branch
Vee Johnson, Consumer Specialist
Consumer Affairs Branch

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Vice-Chairman Purnell.

Minutes

A motion was made by Commissioner Geier-Smith and seconded by Commissioner Harberg to approve the minutes from October 18, 2018. The motion passed unanimously.

Report of the Chairman

Vice-Chairman Purnell did not have a report.

Report of the Directors

Director Liberman spoke about the FY 2020 Budget and the need to balance efficiencies and priorities for residents.

Director Makely discussed the unavailability of a Tenant Landlord Commission public member to serve on an arbitration panel. The need to consider amending the Arbitration Rules and Procedure will be discussed at the February meeting. Input is requested from Commissioners regarding establishing a procedure should a future designated Commissioner not be willing or able to serve.

Staff Report

Staff concluded Tenant Outreach for this year with a workshop at the Katherine Hanley Shelter on December 12, 2018. This partnership will continue in 2019.

Commission Matters

The 2019 calendar was reviewed. Meetings will be on the third Thursdays in February, April, June, August, October, and December 2019.

Commissioner Purnell summarized the arbitration hearing held on December 19, 2018, regarding a security deposit dispute. Commission Geier-Smith offered additional information about the hearing. A partial monetary amount was awarded to the tenant.

Old Business

None

New Business

Pursuant to Article IV of the ByLaws, the following slate of candidates was nominated:

Commissioner Fielding Chairman

Commissioner Park Landlord Vice-Chair Commissioner Purnell Tenant Vice-Chair

Commissioner Harberg Secretary

A motion was made by Commissioner Park and seconded by Commissioner Geier-Smith to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.