Minutes of the Fairfax County Consumer Protection Commission

November 15, 2011	7:30PM Conference 4/5 Government Center 12000 Government Center Pkwy. Fairfax, Virginia 22035 Chairman Fee, presiding
Attendance:	Commissioners: Bahhur, Belkowitz, Bounacos, Boyd, Fee, Hargraves, Hine, Stamp
Absent:	Commissioners: Kirk, Nguyen, Martz, Rosier, Roark
Staff:	Susan Jones, Branch Chief, Consumer Affairs

The meeting was called to order at 7:36 PM by Chairman Fee.

Minutes

The minutes of the October 18, 2011, meeting were approved.

Report of the Chairman

Chairman Fee said the Trespass Towing Advisory Board will be meeting tomorrow night to approve the revisions to the code.

<u>Report of the Director</u>

Susan Jones, Branch Chief, Consumer Affairs spoke on behalf of Director Liberman. A copy of the authorization to advertise a public hearing on allowable water rates, fees, and charges by the Board of Supervisors was provided to the Commission.

Chief Jones announced that County Executive Tony Griffin will retire in April 2012.

Commission Matters

Commissioner Hine had no matters to bring before the commission.

Commissioner Bahhur had no matters to bring before the commission.

Commissioner Stamp had no matters to bring before the commission.

Commissioner Hargraves had no matters to bring before the commission.

Commissioner Bounacos had no matters to bring before the commission.

Commissioner Boyd had no matters to bring before the commission.

Commissioner Belkowitz had no matters to bring before the commission.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

1. Holiday Gathering: The holiday gathering scheduled for December 20, 2011, meeting was discussed. Commissioners requested the meeting be changed to Tuesday, December 13, 2011, to start at 7:00 p.m. Staff will check availability of conference rooms.

2. 2012 Planning Calendar

Topics of Interest were discussed: Verizon, Comcast, Homeowners Association Legislation, and Regulation and Enforcement of Massage Establishments and Pawn Shops.

3. Nomination Committee

Commissioner Bounacos volunteered to chair the nominating committee for the December 2011 meeting nominations.

The meeting ended at 8:05 PM.