# **Minutes of the Fairfax County Consumer Protection Commission**

January 21, 2020 7:30 PM

Government Center, Conference 8 12000 Government Center Parkway

Fairfax, Virginia 22035 Chairman Fee, presiding

Attendance: Commissioners: Belkowitz, Callender, Fee,

Gulakowski, Hargraves, Hine, Kratovil, Kirk,

Lynch, Roark, Rosier

Absent: Commissioners: Javed, Omeish

Staff: Michael S. Liberman, Director

Cable and Consumer Services Rebecca L. Makely, Director Consumer Services Division Susan C. Jones, Branch Chief Consumer Affairs Branch

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 PM by Chairman Fee.

# **Minutes**

The minutes for the December 17, 2019, meeting were approved.

#### Report of the Chairman

Chairman Fee had no matters to bring before the Commission.

### **Report of the Director**

Director Liberman had no matters to bring before the Commission.

### **Commission Matters**

Commissioner Kirk mentioned an increased activity of car break-ins in the Bailey's Crossroad area with residents leaving cars unlocked and with the vehicle running.

Commissioner Lynch stated he first thinks of the consumer and their safety during an appeal hearing.

Commissioner Gulakowski received a robocall from Fairfax County.

Commissioner Belkowitz inquired about business to business solicitation requirements.

Commissioner Hargraves had no matters to bring before the Commission.

Commissioner Hine had no matters to bring before the Commission.

Commissioner Callender had no matters to bring before the Commission.

Commissioner Rosier had no matters to bring before the Commission.

Commissioner Kratovil had no matters to bring before the Commission.

Commissioner Roark had no matters to bring before the Commission.

Chairman Fee provided copies of emails he received from Navy Federal Credit Union that were scams asking for verification of his records by clinking on a link.

### **Old Business**

There was no old business before the Commission.

### **New Business**

**1. Elections:** Commissioner Gulakowski, Nominating Committee, announced the slate of candidates.

Chairman: John Fee

Vice Chairman: Denis Gulakowski

Secretary: Jaqueline Rosier

Commissioner Kirk made the motion to accept the slate of candidates by acclamation. Commissioner Callender seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous.

CPC requested staff email a copy of the Consumer Protection Commission Special Procedures, last adopted on September 17, 2013.

Chairman Kirk made the motion to adjourn. Commissioner Hargraves seconded the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 8:16 PM.